About Hammond

About Hammond

The electorate of Hammond comprises farming, rural and regional centres to the east and south-east of metropolitan Adelaide. It extends from Bowhill to just above Meningie in the south and across to Goolwa and Hindmarsh Island.

Council areas in Hammond; Rural City of Murray Bridge, parts of Coorong, Alexandrina and Mid-Murray Council. The major towns are Murray Bridge, Goolwa, Hindmarsh Island and part of Mannum.

The region hosts both regional and rural communities with an enormous variety of industry. From many types of farming – dairy, dryland, irrigation, horticulture, viticulture, broadacre, intensive, etc – to fishing, manufacturing and processing. Langhorne Creek is one of the State's most prolific producers of wine grapes, renown for consistent high quality wines.

The River Murray is an integral part of the area, including the Lower Lakes and Coorong at the mouth of the system. This region is rich in indigenous history, home to the Ngarrindjeri, custodians of the river and lakes.

Murray Bridge’s close proximity to Adelaide makes it attractive for many families, professionals and industries.

The electorate was named after Ruby Florence Hammond (1936-1993), the first SA Aboriginal person to stand for Parliament. She was active in public affairs and served the general community and her own Aboriginal people with great note - particularly in relation to policy formulation.

Area: approx. 6,245 km2

History: Hammond was created at the 1994 boundary redistribution and was contested for the first time at the 1997 elections. Minor changes were made to the boundaries at the 2003 redistribution, and again following the March 2010 State Election. The most recent boundary redistribution saw the Hammond electorate dramatically change in size, with the areas covered by Southern Mallee Council and Karoonda East Murray District Council moved into the neighboring Riverland electorate of Chaffey. 

Electoral Boundary Map